Site menu:

On this day:

Warry van Wattum was born in 1968.

Winston Bogarde was born in 1970.

Gert Goolkate was born in 1970.

Mitchel van der Gaag was born in 1971.

Fernando Derveld was born in 1976.

Glenn Loovens was born in 1983.


Benjamin van den Broek

Benjamin van den Broek
Birthdate:September 21, 1987 in Geleen
Current club:Telstar (Netherlands)
Contract until:2018
Former club(s):Barrow AFC (Eng), Universitatea Cluj (Rom), FC Den Bosch, Shrewsbury Town (Eng), HFC Haarlem, NAC Breda
In February 2010 Benjamin van den Broek signed a contract at English Second Division side Shrewsbury Town until the end of the season. His previous club HFC Haarlem went bust in January so the English club signed Van den Broek on a free transfer.

In May 2010 Van den Broek has agreed to the clubs offer of a new one year deal at the club and signed on for next season. Benji really impressed in his short time with Shrewsbury Town last term and quickly became a fans favourite with some lightning quick displays. He topped off a great end to the 2009-10 season with his first Football League goal in Town colours in the game against Morecambe.

In March 2011 he announced his return home at the end of his contract. Van den Broek, educated at NAC Breda, signed a 2-year contract at FC Den Bosch until 2013. During his stay, his contract was extended until June 2015.

In February 2015 he made another foreign move. He joined Romanian club Universitatea Cluj who then was coached by former Ajax player George Ogararu. At the end of March, Van den Broek made another surprising foreign move. He made his first international debut for the country of his mother, New Zealand. Van den Broek earned his first cap against South Korea.

In July 2015 Van den Broek was released from his contract. Cluj was relegated to the second division. In August 2015 Van den Broek signed a one-year contract at AFC Barrow, a club competing in the Conference National in England in the 2015-16 season. He returned home after a half season to sign a contract at Telstar until June 2018.

Last update: February 06, 2016